Evaluation of serial crystallographic structure determination within megahertz pulse trains

Oleksandr Yefanov, Dominik Oberthür, Richard Bean, Max O. Wiedorn, Juraj Knoska, Gisel Pena, Salah Awel, Lars Gumprecht, Martin Domaracky, Iosifina Sarrou, P. Lourdu Xavier, Markus Metz, Saša Bajt, Valerio Mariani, Yaroslav Gevorkov, Thomas A. White, Aleksandra Tolstikova, Pablo Villanueva-Perez, Carolin Seuring, Steve AplinArmando D. Estillore, Jochen Küpper, Alexander Klyuev, Manuela Kuhn, Torsten Laurus, Heinz Graafsma, Diana C.F. Monteiro, Martin Trebbin, Filipe R.N.C. Maia, Francisco Cruz-Mazo, Alfonso M. Gañan-Calvo, Michael Heymann, Connie Darmanin, Brian Abbey, Marius Schmidt, Petra Fromme, Klaus Giewekemeyer, Marcin Sikorski, Rita Graceffa, Patrik Vagovic, Thomas Kluyver, Martin Bergemann, Hans Fangohr, Jolanta Sztuk-Dambietz, Steffen Hauf, Natascha Raab, Valerii Bondar, Adrian P. Mancuso, Henry Chapman, Anton Barty

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

22 Scopus citations


The new European X-ray Free-Electron Laser (European XFEL) is the first X-ray free-electron laser capable of delivering intense X-ray pulses with a megahertz interpulse spacing in a wavelength range suitable for atomic resolution structure determination. An outstanding but crucial question is whether the use of a pulse repetition rate nearly four orders of magnitude higher than previously possible results in unwanted structural changes due to either radiation damage or systematic effects on data quality. Here, separate structures from the first and subsequent pulses in the European XFEL pulse train were determined, showing that there is essentially no difference between structures determined from different pulses under currently available operating conditions at the European XFEL.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Article number064702
JournalStructural Dynamics
Issue number6
StatePublished - Nov 2019

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Radiation
  • Instrumentation
  • Condensed Matter Physics
  • Spectroscopy


Dive into the research topics of 'Evaluation of serial crystallographic structure determination within megahertz pulse trains'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.
  • Multi-Hit SFX using MHz XFEL sources

    Wiedorn, M. O. (Contributor), Oberthür, D. (Contributor), Bean, R. (Contributor), Schubert, R. (Contributor), Werner, N. (Contributor), Abbey, B. (Contributor), Aepfelbacher, M. (Contributor), Adriano, L. (Contributor), Allahgholi, A. (Contributor), Al-Qudami, N. (Contributor), Andreasson, J. (Contributor), Aplin, S. (Contributor), Awel, S. (Contributor), Ayyer, K. (Contributor), Bajt, S. (Contributor), Barák, I. (Contributor), Bari, S. (Contributor), Bielecki, J. (Contributor), Botha, S. (Contributor), Boukhelef, D. (Contributor), Brehm, W. (Contributor), Brockhauser, S. (Contributor), Cheviakov, I. (Contributor), Coleman, M. A. (Contributor), Cruz-Mazo, F. (Contributor), Danilevski, C. (Contributor), Darmanin, C. (Contributor), Doak, R. B. (Contributor), Domaracky, M. (Contributor), Dörner, K. (Contributor), Du, Y. (Contributor), Fangohr, H. (Contributor), Fleckenstein, H. (Contributor), Frank, M. (Contributor), Fromme, P. (Contributor), Gañán-Calvo, A. M. (Contributor), Gevorkov, Y. (Contributor), Giewekemeyer, K. (Contributor), Ginn, H. M. (Contributor), Graafsma, H. (Contributor), Graceffa, R. (Contributor), Greiffenberg, D. (Contributor), Gumprecht, L. (Contributor), Göttlicher, P. (Contributor), Hajdu, J. (Contributor), Hauf, S. (Contributor), Heymann, M. (Contributor), Holmes, S. (Contributor), Horke, D. A. (Contributor), Hunter, M. S. (Contributor), Imlau, S. (Contributor), Kaukher, A. (Contributor), Kim, Y. (Contributor), Klyuev, A. (Contributor), Knoška, J. (Contributor), Kobe, B. (Contributor), Kuhn, M. (Contributor), Kupitz, C. (Contributor), Küpper, J. (Contributor), Lahey-Rudolph, J. M. (Contributor), Laurus, T. (Contributor), Le Cong, K. (Contributor), Letrun, R. (Contributor), Xavier, P. L. (Contributor), Maia, L. (Contributor), Maia, F. R. N. C. (Contributor), Mariani, V. (Contributor), Messerschmidt, M. (Contributor), Metz, M. (Contributor), Mezza, D. (Contributor), Michelat, T. (Contributor), Mills, G. (Contributor), Monteiro, D. C. F. (Contributor), Morgan, A. (Contributor), Mühlig, K. (Contributor), Munke, A. (Contributor), Münnich, A. (Contributor), Nette, J. (Contributor), Nugent, K. A. (Contributor), Nuguid, T. (Contributor), Orville, A. M. (Contributor), Pandey, S. (Contributor), Pena, G. (Contributor), Villanueva-Perez, P. (Contributor), Poehlsen, J. (Contributor), Previtali, G. (Contributor), Redecke, L. (Contributor), Riekehr, W. M. (Contributor), Rohde, H. (Contributor), Round, A. (Contributor), Safenreiter, T. (Contributor), Sarrou, I. (Contributor), Sato, T. (Contributor), Schmidt, M. (Contributor), Schmitt, B. (Contributor), Schönherr, R. (Contributor), Schulz, J. (Contributor), Sellberg, J. A. (Contributor), Seibert, M. M. (Contributor), Seuring, C. (Contributor), Shelby, M. L. (Contributor), Shoeman, R. L. (Contributor), Sikorski, M. (Contributor), Silenzi, A. (Contributor), Stan, C. A. (Contributor), Shi, X. (Contributor), Stern, S. (Contributor), Sztuk-Dambietz, J. (Contributor), Szuba, J. (Contributor), Tolstikova, A. (Contributor), Trebbin, M. (Contributor), Trunk, U. (Contributor), Vagovic, P. (Contributor), Ve, T. (Contributor), Weinhausen, B. (Contributor), White, T. A. (Contributor), Wrona, K. (Contributor), Xu, C. (Contributor), Yefanov, O. (Contributor), Zatsepin, N. (Contributor), Zhang, J. (Contributor), Perbandt, M. (Contributor), Mancuso, A. P. (Contributor), Betzel, C. (Contributor), Chapman, H. (Contributor), Barty, A. (Contributor), Estillore, A. D. (Contributor), Kluyver, T. (Contributor), Bergemann, M. (Contributor), Raab, N. (Contributor), Bondar, V. (Contributor), Kirkwood, H. J. (Contributor), Martin, A. V. (Contributor), Hadian-Jazi, M. (Contributor), Marman, H. (Contributor), Fanghor, H. (Contributor), Molodtsov, S. (Contributor) & Peña Murillo, G. E. (Contributor), Protein Data Bank (PDB), Oct 13 2021


Cite this